The web is filled with viruses, but ransomware is the worst. All other types of viruses are nothing compared to ransomware and the harm it can bring. One of the worst types is “.Jaff” ransomware, which could occur on any computer. This post will provide readers with ransomware virus removal tips, including how they can possibly restore encoded data without losing money.

What is .jaff ransomware?

Jaff infects a PC via malicious files that are added to spam. After that, it begins to encrypt the computer’s files. If a user has failed to stop the virus during the infection stage, their files will be corrupted. Almost all types of files that might appear on a computer can be encrypted by Jaff ransomware. The process goes from five minutes to several hours, depending on the number of files on the PC. Scammers want the ransom to be paid in bitcoins and set the sum personally for each victim, depending on a number of encrypted files and their approximate value.

Using complex encryption

Most types of malicious software tend to use extremely complex encryption algorithms such as AES-128 and RSA-2048, which successfully protect the secrets of governments, corporations, and military forces. Jaff also uses them. So, there is only one absolutely reliable way to recover your files: use a backup. If users do not have a backup – they can say “bye” to their files because nothing guarantees that hackers, who have stolen those files, will not deceive users even after being paid. There are always other methods to help users restore their data, but they cannot guarantee success.

Tips on removing this particular virus

Restoring a user’s files should the main goal if a system is infected with Jaff ransomware. Yet, Jaff must be eliminated completely to ensure the security of new files. Uninstalling Jaff is a necessary phase of each recovery technique. Instant deletion is required if the user has decided to decrypt the data manually, or they have backups to load, and if he or she prefers to pay the ransom price. However, the malware must be deleted when the files are fully recovered.